View basket and checkout
Events Subscriptions Vouchers Contact

Irvine Welsh for Resolution

Monday 8th July

Broughton St Mary's, 12 Bellevue Cres, Edinburgh EH3 6NE
Doors Open
Start Time

Please note, this event is now taking place at Broughton St Mary's, 12 Bellevue Cres, Edinburgh EH3 6NE.

This July, we're over the moon to be hosting Irvine Welsh to celebrate publication of his newest novel. Beloved all over the world but especially so in our wee corner of the book world, Irvine is the mind behind the era-defining novels Trainspotting, Filth, Porno, and - a personal bookseller favourite - Marabou Stork Nightmares.

More recently, Irvine has embarked on his CRIME series, beginning (naturally) with Crime and followed-up with The Long Knives. Now, Irvine brings us the third in the series: Resolution. Join us at Broughton St Mary's where Irvine will talk all things Resolution with bestseller and local literary legend, Denise Mina.


The truth is what we say the truth is...

Former detective Ray Lennox is determined to start a new life. He has left Edinburgh Police behind for a fresh career and a fresh relationship in Brighton.

Then he meets Mathew Cardingworth. Rich, smooth-talking and immaculately dressed, he is seemingly a pillar of the local community - yet he soon draws Lennox back to a past that he's desperate to forget.

As Lennox identifies the links between Cardingworth, a series of violent attacks and the disappearances of a group of foster care boys, he is forced to ask himself: what must he sacrifice to expose the truth?

Irvine Welsh was born and raised in Edinburgh. His first novel, Trainspotting, has sold over one million copies in the UK and was adapted into an era-defining film. He has written thirteen further novels, including Crime and the number one bestseller Dead Men's Trousers, four books of shorter fiction and numerous plays and screenplays. Irvine Welsh currently lives between London, Edinburgh and Miami.

Denise Mina is the author of the Garnethill trilogy, the Paddy Meehan series and the Alex Morrow series, as well as historical novels Rizzio and Three Fires. She has won the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award twice and was inducted into the Crime Writers' Association Hall of Fame in 2014. The Long Drop won the McIlvanney Prize for Scottish Crime Book of the Year 2017 as well as the Gordon Burn Prize and was named by The Times as one of the top ten crime novels of the decade.

More Information on Our Event Vouchers