View basket and checkout
Events Subscriptions Vouchers Contact

Clare Chambers

Tuesday 1st October

Venue
Pilrig St. Paul's Church, 1B Pilrig St, Edinburgh EH6 5AH
Doors Open
7pm
Start Time
7.30pm
clare

For our Autumn Literary Festival, we are thrilled to be welcoming bestselling author Clare Chambers, who joins us to celebrate Shy Creatures. Perfect for fans of Sarah Winman and Maggie O’Farrell, this is a life-affirming novel about all the different ways we can be confined, how ordinary lives are built of delicate layers of experience, the joy of freedom and the transformative power of kindness.

Shy Creatures

Croydon, 1964. Helen Hansford is in her thirties and an art therapist in a psychiatric hospital where she has been having a long love affair with Gil: a charismatic, married doctor.

One spring afternoon they receive a call about a disturbance from a derelict house not far from Helen’s home. A thirty-seven-year-old man called William Tapping, with a beard down to his waist, has been discovered along with his elderly aunt. It is clear he has been shut up in the house for decades, but when it emerges that William is a talented artist, Helen is determined to discover his story.

About Clare Chambers

Clare Chambers’ first job after university was working for Diana Athill at André Deutsch. Her first novel Uncertain Terms was published in 1992 and she is the author of eight other novels. Small Pleasures, her first work of fiction in ten years, became a word-of-mouth hit on publication, was selected for BBC 2 Between the Covers book club and for BBC Radio 4 Book at Bedtime, and was selected as a Book of the Year by The Times, the Evening Standard, Daily Telegraph, Spectator, Metro, Red and Good Housekeeping. It also won Pageturner of the Year Award at the British Book Awards 2022 and was longlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction in 2021.

More Information on Our Event Vouchers