View basket and checkout
Events Subscriptions Vouchers Contact

The Winter List: Gripping historical thriller completes the Seeker series

by S. G. MacLean

Hardback (unsigned) £20
Published 7th September 2023
Signed first edition £20
First edition, first printing, signed by the author
You’ll be able to choose Delivery or Click & Collect after you enter your address.
UK postage is £2.95, or free for orders over £60.


in Bath

in Edinburgh

Available to order
in Ely

in St Andrews


Summer, 1660. Cromwell is dead and Charles Stuart has been restored to the throne. Men who supported the Protectorate are being hunted down as traitors.

‘S. G. MacLean can make any historical period sing with life’ Antonia Hodgson

By the summer of 1660 the last remnants of the Republic have been swept away and the Stuarts have been restored under their king, Charles II. A list of regicides believed to be involved in the death of Charles I is drawn up. Gruesome executions begin to take place and the hunt intensifies for those who have gone into hiding at home or abroad.

Although not a regicide, staunch Republican Damian Seeker is on a list of traitors to the king. Royalist spy, Lady Anne Winter, is employed to find evidence of guilt or innocence among the names on this Winter List. Seeker has fled England but his beloved daughter Manon remains, married to Seeker’s friend, the lawyer Lawrence Ingolby, and living in York.

As the conduit to her father and to others on the Winter List and surrounded by spies and watchers, Manon lives in constant danger and fear of discovery. One of those spies is closer than even she could have imagined.

Perfect for fans of Robert Harris and Andrew Taylor.


Praise for The Winter List

‘A wonderful storyteller The Times

Vividly imaginative, this builds the world of 1660 from the ground up, with all its romance and tragedy Sun

‘A propulsive plot … well-researched and fascinatingGuardian

Gripping fiction with historical fact’ Sunday Times

‘What a fabulous book … there is murder, there is intrigue, there is revenge 5* Reader Review

Kept me hooked right up to the end’ 5* Reader Review

A glorious tale of revenge and retribution … Highly recommended5* Reader Review


The Winter List: Gripping historical thriller completes the Seeker series
by S. G. MacLean


Quercus Publishing


Publication date
Sept. 7, 2023

23.8cm x 16.4cm x 3.8cm