View basket and checkout
Events Subscriptions Vouchers Contact

The Instrumentalist: For fans of THE MINIATURIST and THE MARRIAGE PORTRAIT

by Harriet Constable

Hardback (unsigned) £16.99
Published 15th August 2024
Signed first edition £16.99
First edition, first printing, signed by the author
You’ll be able to choose Delivery or Click & Collect after you enter your address.
UK postage is £2.95, or free for orders over £60.

On order
online

On order
in Bath

On order
in Edinburgh

On order
in Ely

On order
in St Andrews

Description

A dazzling historical debut set in eighteenth-century Venice, about the woman written out of the story of history’s greatest musical masterpiece **An Observer Debut Novelist of 2024** **Selected as a book of 2024 by the New Statesman and the BBC** ‘Enthralling, passionate, vivid. The Instrumentalist is a marvel’ Kiran Millwood Hargrave ‘A fascinating story of music, ambition, and womanhood in eighteenth-century Venice’ Charmaine Wilkerson ‘I was swept away by this searing portrait of ambition and betrayal’ Elizabeth Macneal _________________________________________________________ I will be remembered. My life will mean something. Venice. 1704. In this city of glittering splendour, desperation and destitution are never far away. At the Ospedale della Pietà, abandoned orphan girls are posted every day through a tiny gap in the wall. Anna Maria is just one of the three hundred girls growing up within the Pietà’s walls – but she already knows she is different. Obsessive and gifted, she is on a mission to become Venice’s greatest violinist and composer, and in her remarkable world of colour and sound, it seems like nothing will stop her. But the odds are stacked against an orphan girl – so when the maestro selects her as his star pupil, Anna Maria knows she must do everything in her power to please this difficult, brilliant man. But as Anna Maria’s star rises, threatening to eclipse that of her mentor, the dream she has so single-mindedly pursued is thrown into peril… From the jewelled palaces of Venice to its mud-licked canals, this is a story of one woman’s irrepressible ambition and rise to the top, of loss and triumph, and of who we choose to remember and those who lie forgotten.

Details

The Instrumentalist: For fans of THE MINIATURIST and THE MARRIAGE PORTRAIT
by Harriet Constable

ISBN
9781526672568

Publisher
Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Binding
Hardback

Publication date
Aug. 15, 2024