View basket and checkout
Events Subscriptions Vouchers Contact
We are open 9am - 6pm every day for collection as well as for postal and phone orders! It’s lovely - and cheering - to see familiar faces at the door.

Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots

by Deborah Feldman

Paperback £10.99
Published 19th March 2020, 272 pages
You’ll be able to choose Delivery or Click & Collect after you enter your address.
UK postage is £2.95, or free for orders over £60.

Available
online

Available soon
in Bath

Available
in Edinburgh

Available
in Ely

Available
in St Andrews

Description

Now a Netflix original series!

Unorthodox is the bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape , featuring a new epilogue by the author.

As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. Yet in spite of her repressive upbringing, Deborah grew into an independent-minded young woman whose stolen moments reading about the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott helped her to imagine an alternative way of life among the skyscrapers of Manhattan. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborah’s desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, regardless of the obstacles, she would have to forge a path-for herself and her son-to happiness and freedom.

Remarkable and fascinating, this “sensitive and memorable coming-of-age story” ( Pittsburgh Post-Gazette ) is one you won’t be able to put down.

Details

Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots
by Deborah Feldman

ISBN
9781982148201

Publisher
Simon & Schuster

Binding
Paperback

Publication date
March 19, 2020

Dimensions
21.3cm x 14.0cm x 1.5cm

Page count
272 pages