View basket and checkout
Events Subscriptions Vouchers Contact

Rare Singles

by Benjamin Myers

Hardback (unsigned) £18.99
Published 1st August 2024
Signed first edition £18.99
First edition, first printing, signed by the author
You’ll be able to choose Delivery or Click & Collect after you enter your address.
UK postage is £2.95, or free for orders over £60.

On order
online

On order
in Bath

On order
in Edinburgh

On order
in Ely

On order
in St Andrews

Description

A warm, tender and funny story about unlikely friendships, second chances, and the magic of soul music - perfect for fans of Nick Hornby, David Nicholls and Jonathan Coe *Selected as a book of 2024 by the Guardian and New Statesman** Dinah has always lived in Scarborough. Trapped with her feckless husband and useless son, her one release comes at her town’s Northern Soul nights, where she gets to put on her best and lose herself in the classics. Dinah has an especial hero: Bucky Bronco, who recorded a string of soul gems in the late Sixties and then vanished off the face of the earth. When she manages to contact Bucky she can’t believe her luck. Over in Chicago, Bucky Bronco is down on his luck – and has been since the loss of his beloved wife Maybelle. The best he can hope for is to make ends meet, and try and stay high. But then an unexpected invitation arrives, from someone he’s never met, to come to somewhere he’s never heard of. With nothing to lose – and in need of the cash – Bucky boards a plane. And so Bucky finds himself in rainy Scarborough, where everyone seems to know who is – preparing to play for an audience for the first time in nearly half a century. Over the course of the week, he finds himself striking up new and unexpected friendships; and facing his past, and its losses, for the very first time. Wise, hilarious and profound, Rare Singles is an unforgettable story about the power of music and friendship to bring us back to ourselves.

Details

Rare Singles
by Benjamin Myers

ISBN
9781526671905

Publisher
Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Binding
Hardback

Publication date
Aug. 1, 2024