Salley Vickers in Ely

Wednesday 23rd November 2016

  • Venue St Peter's Church, Broad Street, Ely, CB7 4AH
  • Doors open 7.10pm
  • Start time 7.30pm
Image of Salley Vickers

Salley Vickers first novel Miss Garnet’s Angel was an international word of mouth bestseller, and she has since established herself as one of our leading novelists, in the tradition of Penelope Fitzgerald and Marilynne Robinson.  In her latest book, Cousins, brilliant and mercurial Will Tye suffers a life changing accident with consequences  which echo through three generations of the  Tye family. Each member of the family holds some clue to the chain of events which may have led to the accident and each holds themselves to blame.  Much of the novel is set around Cambridge University and Ely : “The day after Will’s accident I went to sit in the cathedral. From the time of our move to Ely I had often retired to its ancient calm and never went without lighting a candle ……”