An Evening with Salley Vickers in Bath

Thursday 28th November

  • Venue The Bookshop, The Paragon, Bath, BA1 5LS
  • Doors open 7.45pm
  • Start time 8pm
Image of An Evening with Salley Vickers

Salley Vickers first novel Miss Garnet’s Angel was an international word of mouth bestseller, and she has since established herself as one of our leading novelists, in the tradition of Penelope Fitzgerald and Marilynne Robinson.  In her latest book, we follow four very different grandmothers: Blanche, who can’t seem to stop stealing things from the local pharmacy; Minna, who just wants a quiet life in her shepherd’s hut, though the local children have other ideas; Cherry, who’s adjusting to life in a care home; and Nan, whose favourite occupation is researching funerals – whose lives and grandchildren become unexpectedly entangled. With Grandmothers, Salley Vickers has crafted a magnificent novel exploring life in all its richness.

“Vickers sees with a clear eye and writes with a light hand. She’s a presence worth cherishing in the ranks of modern novelists.” Philip Pullman

“Vickers has a formidable knack for laying open the human heart, ” The Sunday Times