View basket and checkout
Events Subscriptions Vouchers Contact

Under the Whispering Door

by TJ Klune

Hardback (unsigned) £16.99
Published 28th October 2021, 384 pages
Signed first edition £16.99
First edition, first printing, signed by the author
You’ll be able to choose Delivery or Click & Collect after you enter your address.
UK postage is £2.95, or free for orders over £60.

Available
online

Available
in Bath

Available
in Edinburgh

Available
in Ely

Available
in St Andrews

Description

Witty, haunting, and kind, Under the Whispering Door is a gift for troubled times. TJ Klune brings us a warm hug of a story about a man who spent his life at the office - and his afterlife building a home.

From the author of joyous New York Times bestseller The House in the Cerulean Sea .

Welcome to Charon s Crossing.
The tea is hot, the scones are fresh and the dead are just passing through.

When a reaper comes to collect Wallace from his own sparsely-attended funeral, Wallace is outraged. But he begins to suspect she’s right, and he is in fact dead. Then when Hugo, owner of a most peculiar tea shop, promises to help him cross over, Wallace reluctantly accepts the truth.

Yet even in death, he refuses to abandon his life - even though Wallace spent all of it working, correcting colleagues and hectoring employees. He’d had no time for frivolities like fun and friends. But as Wallace drinks tea with Hugo and talks to his customers, he wonders if he was missing something.

The feeling grows as he shares jokes with the resident ghost, manifests embarrassing footwear and notices the stars. So when he’s given one week to pass through the door to the other side, Wallace sets about living a lifetime in just seven days.

Fans of A Man Called Ove and The Good Place will fall for this queer love story by TJ Klune.

Praise for TJ Klune’s The House in the Cerulean Sea:

‘I loved it. It is like being wrapped up in a big gay blanket. Simply perfect.’
- V. E. Schwab, no.1 New York Times bestselling author of The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

‘A modern fairy tale about learning your true nature and what you love and will protect. It’s a beautiful book.’
- Charlaine Harris, no.1 New York Times bestselling author

1984 meets The Umbrella Academy with a pinch of Douglas Adams thrown in. Touching, tender, and truly delightful.’
- Gail Carriger, New York Times bestselling author of Soulless

‘A witty, wholesome fantasy that’s likely to cause heart-swelling.’
- The Washington Post

Details

Under the Whispering Door
by TJ Klune

ISBN
9781529087970

Publisher
Pan Macmillan

Binding
Hardback

Publication date
Oct. 28, 2021

Dimensions
22.3cm x 14.4cm x 3.8cm

Page count
384 pages