View basket and checkout
Events Subscriptions Vouchers Contact

The Lost Storyteller

by Amanda Block

Hardback (unsigned) £14.99
Published 8th July 2021, 400 pages
Signed first edition £14.99
First edition, first printing, signed by the author
You’ll be able to choose Delivery or Click & Collect after you enter your address.
UK postage is £2.95, or free for orders over £60.

Available
online

Available
in Bath

Available
in Edinburgh

Available
in Ely

Available
in St Andrews

Description

‘A powerful novel about the bond between fathers and daughters, and how stories connect us all. I loved it’ Jenny Colgan

THE LOST STORYTELLER is the heartwarming and evocative debut novel from a stunning new voice in fiction, Amanda Block. Perfect for fans of Ruth Hogan, Jessie Burton and Diane Setterfield.

Rebecca hasn’t seen her father Leo since she was six. Her family never talk about him, and she has long since pushed him firmly to the back of her mind. All she knows is that, once upon a time, he was a well-loved children’s TV star.

But when a journalist turns up uninvited at her office, asking questions about her once-famous father, Rebecca starts to wonder whether there is more to Leo’s absence than she realised. Then, looking for answers, she unearths a book of fairy tales written by Leo and dedicated to her - but what use are children’s stories to her now, all these years later?

Tentatively, Rebecca tries to piece together her father’s life, from the people he used to know and her own hazy memories. Yet her mind keeps returning to the magical, melancholic fairy tales, which seem to contain more truth than make-believe. Perhaps they are the key to unlocking the mystery of her father, the lost storyteller; to revealing who he was, what he went through - and even where he might be now…

THE LOST STORYTELLER celebrates the power and resilience of imagination.

‘Absolutely beautiful … A cleverly wrought tale of fathers and daughters, and a bond buried so deep that it is lost to folklore’ Polly Crosby, author of The Illustrated Child

‘Captivating, moving and profound. I loved it! A spellbinding novel about the power of the stories we tell both to ourselves and to others’ Tracey Emerson, author of She Chose Me


‘Incredibly moving … A genuinely beautiful must-read’ Buki Papillon, author of An Ordinary Wonder

‘Completely engaging … A lovely reflection on the power and magic of stories’ Marianne Cronin, author of The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot

‘A warm, immersive read that weaves folklore through a story of self-discovery that touches on what it means to be a daughter, the ramifications of the past and daring to follow your heart’ Kate Sawyer, author of The Stranding

‘… Beautifully, sensitively told. Block reminds us that people don’t always behave as we want them to, and maybe because of that, there are few things so powerful as the ability to be kind’ Wee Review

Beautifully revealed, with a lovingly drawn conclusion’ Zoe West, Woman and Home

‘A beguiling, gorgeous book about fathers and daughters and the stories that bind and redeem us’ YOU magazine

Details

The Lost Storyteller
by Amanda Block

ISBN
9781529360783

Publisher
Hodder & Stoughton General Division

Binding
Hardback

Publication date
July 8, 2021

Dimensions
23.8cm x 15.4cm x 4.2cm

Page count
400 pages