Gerogina Hayden colour

Supper in the Bookshop with Georgina Hayden

Monday 3rd October, 7.30pm

Cooking, for some of us, will always be the ultimate form of therapy. In her beautiful new cookbook, Georgina Hayden celebrates the cooking that allows us to indulge in the time spent in the kitchen; restoring and rejuvenating. We are delighted to be hosting a bookshop supper event to celebrate Stirring Slowly; Stuart and the […]

View full details and book places »
Damon Hill 2016 website

Racing Legend Damon Hill

Wednesday 5th October, 7.30pm

We are thrilled to announce that Formula One legend Damon Hill will be joining us to celebrate his autobiography, Watching the Wheels! One of the greatest British racing drivers of all time, Damon has written a superb account of his life, from the early death of his father to his crowning moment as World Champion […]

View full details and book places »
simon king

Simon King from Springwatch

Thursday 6th October, 7.30pm

Although now most familiar for his appearances on BBCs  Springwatch, Simon King  has in fact been making wildlife films for over thirty years, as both cameraman and presenter. Along the way he has won many awards, written a few books, and survived an attack by a rabid leopard. In his new book Nature Watch, Simon […]

View full details and book places »
Jo Malone MBE author pic - credit Liz McAulay

Jo Malone

Monday 10th October, 7.30pm

Jo Malone MBE is one of the greatest British perfumers of recent years; she has revolutionised the beauty industry, both as the creator of the stunning fragrances that still sell under her name, and as her newest business venture, Jo Loves. We are delighted to welcome her to celebrate the publication of her new memoir, […]

View full details and book places »
bookshelf

Reading Group – The Garden of the Finzi-Continis

Monday 10th October, 7.30pm

The Garden of the Finzi-Continis A touching love story, a penetrating study of memory and a subtle work of historical reconstruction, Bassani’s lyrical, yet unsparing, depiction of the destruction of a family and a culture as anti-semitism spreads through Italian society on the eve of World War II has long been recognised as a modern classic […]

View full details and book places »
Our beautiful shelves!

Reading group – Sleeping on Jupiter

Monday 10th October, 7.30pm

Sleeping on Jupiter – Anuradha Roy here among the pilgrims, priests and ashrams, three elderly ladies meet a young wild girl on the train to Jarmuli, a temple town by yhe sea. Each is on a pilgramage. As their lives overlap, unexpected connections are revealed and Jarmuli emerges as a place with a long dark […]

View full details and book places »
18 Feb 2010 --- Richard Coles in St. Paul's, Knightsbridge, London. --- Image by © Muir Vidler/Corbis Outline

Richard Coles

Tuesday 11th October, 7.30pm

Richard Coles charmed us all when he last visited for the first volume of his autobiography, Fathomless Riches. Wry humour, celebrity anecdote and often very affecting affirmations of his faith proved a winning combination. Bringing in the Sheaves continues where Fathomless Riches left off, with Richard’s ordination in 2005. The story, however, is told very differently, structured around the […]

View full details and book places »
Margaret Atwood c. Liam Sharp

Margaret Atwood

Wednesday 12th October, 7.30pm

Come and spend an evening with the best-selling novelist Margaret Atwood this autumn as she discusses her new book, Hag-Seed, a re-imagining of Shakespeare’s The Tempest. Margaret’s novel take on this tale of enchantment, revenge and second chances is filled with  surprises and wonders of its own. Don’t miss this opportunity to hear from one of the world’s most […]

View full details and book places »

Lunch with Meera Sodha

Friday 14th October, 1.15pm

If you’ve been to one of our lunches before, you’ll know you’re in for a treat: we love holding these relaxed, informal meals based on recipes from the book. Meera Sodha‘s modern take on Indian cooking is perfect for such an occasion; come and let us serve you delicious food from Fresh India, and hear from Meera […]

View full details and book places »
de hamel

Christopher de Hamel

Monday 17th October, 7.30pm

There is something truly bewitching about the manuscripts of the past; a sense of the care and the craftsmanship that created them. In Meetings with Remarkable Manuscripts Christopher de Hamel introduces us to some of the most fascinating documents in our history and to the people who owned them; kings, queens, saints, scribes, artists, librarians, […]

View full details and book places »
Michelle Paverresized

Michelle Paver

Tuesday 18th October, 7.30pm

The Himalayas, 1935. Kangchenjunga – the third-highest peak on earth, and the greatest killer of them all. Five Englishmen set off from Darjeeling, determined to conquer the sacred summit. But courage can only take them so far – and the mountain is not their only foe. As the wind dies, the dread grows…Michelle Paver, much […]

View full details and book places »
Ann Cleeves

Vera and Shetland creator Ann Cleeves

Thursday 20th October, 7.30pm

We think Ann Cleeves is one of the best crime writers of the moment; author of both the Vera Stanhope novels and the ‘Shetland’ series, she always provides us with three-dimensional characters, gripping plots and superb descriptive writing. As the books have gained more and more popularity (and two highly-acclaimed television series…) Vera and Jimmy […]

View full details and book places »
John Julius Norwich 2

John Julius Norwich

Monday 24th October, 7.30pm

Lord Norwich’s visits are always a highlight in our events calendar. No one brings history to life with the same verve and interest, regardless of the topic at hand. This time he introduces us to four great princes – Henry VIII, Francis I, Charles V, Suleiman the Magnificent – and the way in which their […]

View full details and book places »
Keggie Carew (c) Juliette Foy HR

Keggie Carew

Wednesday 26th October, 7.30pm

As her father begins to forget his life, Keggie is determined to uncover it, and finds that, as a member of the Special Operations Executive, he changed the course of conflicts all over the world. This is both a gripping history of a largely forgotten and fascinating military unit and a moving examination of family […]

View full details and book places »
mike rouse

Mike Rouse

Thursday 27th October, 7.30pm

Standing on what was one of the largest islands in the Cambridgeshire Fens, Ely has a rich and varied history. The Story of Ely takes an engaging look at this cathedral city from the earliest times to the modern day, recalling pivotal events and taking into account its unique architectural development and heritage. Illustrated with […]

View full details and book places »
Paddy Ashdown

Paddy Ashdown

Tuesday 1st November, 7.30pm

A riveting three-way spy story set in occupied France.  ‘Game of Spies‘ tells the story of a lethal spy triangle in Bordeaux between 1942 and 1944 in Bordeaux – and of France’s greatest betrayal by aristocratic and right-wing Resistance leader Andre Grandclement. The story centres on three men: one British, one French and one German […]

View full details and book places »
crane

Nicholas Crane

Wednesday 2nd November, 7.30pm

 Nicholas Crane is the award winning author, expert cartographer, international explorer and co-presenter of BBC TV’s hugely popular ‘Coast’ series.  The Making of the English Landscape brilliantly  describes the evolution of Britain’s countryside and the development of its cities. Part journey, part history, the book culminates in the 21st century, set to be one of the most extreme centuries, […]

View full details and book places »
simenon

Supper Club – Simenon’s Maigret

Tuesday 8th November, 7.30pm

Join us for a three course supper inspired by the culinary world of the great Inspector Maigret. To accompany some classic French cuisine we will be joined by Simenon’s son John, who will be talking to us about his father. £10.00 of your ticket price will be redeemable against Maigret-related books to be used at […]

View full details and book places »
ian rankin

Ian Rankin

Wednesday 9th November, 7.30pm

For John Rebus, forty years may have passed, but the death of beautiful, promiscuous Maria Turquand still preys on his mind. Murdered in her hotel room on the night a famous rock star and his entourage were staying there, Maria’s killer has never been found. Meanwhile, the dark heart of Edinburgh remains up for grabs – […]

View full details and book places »
jls

John Lewis-Stempel

Thursday 10th November, 7.30pm

John Lewis-Stempel has two parallel careers, one as a military historian and one as a nature writer. He excels in both, so it is tremendously exciting to discover that his new book will combine the two. Where Poppies Blow is the  story of the British soldiers of World War one and their relationship with the wildlife around them. […]

View full details and book places »
john-simpson

An Evening with John Simpson

Monday 14th November, 7.30pm

If anyone has the right to tell the story of the war correspondent then John Simpson is surely that man. In a distinguished BBC career spanning fifty years, he has reported on all of the major conflicts of our time with an unflinching gaze and a deep understanding of the tensions, human stories and terrible […]

View full details and book places »
Salley Vickers

Salley Vickers

Tuesday 22nd November, 7.30pm

Salley Vickers first novel Miss Garnett’s Angel was an international word of mouth bestseller, and she has since established herself as one of our leading novelists, in the tradition of Penelope Fitzgerald and Marilynne Robinson.  In her latest book, Cousins, brilliant and mercurial Will Tye suffers a life changing accident with consequences  which echo through three generations of the […]

View full details and book places »
ray

Ray Mears

Thursday 24th November, 7.30pm

Ray Mears is recognised throughout the world as a leading authority on  survival skills. For more than twenty years Ray and his collaborator Lars Falt have worked together teaching bushcraft in Arctic Lapland, and Out on the Land is a distillation, not only of the skills they have learned, but of the traditions and cultures that have […]

View full details and book places »
Alan Johnson2

Alan Johnson

Saturday 10th December, 7.30pm

The first two volumes of Alan Johnson’s autobiography have been universally acclaimed and justly rewarded with many prizes.  The third volume, The Long and Winding Road  tells of Alan’s early  skirmishes as a trades union leader, where his charismatic style and negotiating skill soon came to the notice of  senior members of the Labour Party. Alan entered Parliament […]

View full details and book places »