Archer 750

Jeffrey Archer

Friday 24th April, 7.30pm

Mightier Than The Sword opens with an IRA bomb exploding, and continues  at pace as Lord Archer tells his story with his usual wit and verve. All his trademark twists and turns are employed as the story of the Clifton and Barrington families continues in this, the author’s most accomplished novel to date. We are […]

View full details and book places »
Deaver

Jeffrey Deaver

Tuesday 5th May, 7.30pm

We are delighted to bring Jeffrey Deaver, one of America’s most acclaimed crime writers to Ely to celebrate the publication of his latest novel.  Solitude Creek, the fourth in the electrifying Kathryn Dance series, finds the investigator engaging with a killer whose plan is to use the panic of the crowd to hide his crimes…This […]

View full details and book places »
gavin extence auth.

Gavin Extence

Monday 11th May, 7.30pm

Gavin Extence’s first book, The Universe Versus Alex Woods, was a resounding success: a superb novel that was much loved and discussed, and a reading group favourite. Now he returns with a new novel, focussing on Abby, who finds her neighbour’s body: what follows is an exacting examination of mental illness and the way we […]

View full details and book places »
Conrad Secret Agent

Reading Group: The Secret Agent by Joseph Conrad.

Tuesday 12th May, 7.30pm

  In a corrupt London underworld of criminals, terrorists and fanatics, Mr Verloc is assigned to plant to plant a bomb. The tragic repercussions for his family show how Conrad’s ironic voice is concerned not with politics but with the terrible fates of ordinary people.  

View full details and book places »
Investigation Lee

Reading Group: The Investigation by Jung-Myung Lee

Tuesday 12th May, 7.30pm

  A sweeping, gripping tale perfect for fans of The Shadow of the World. In Fukola Prison , 1944 a man is found brutally murdered. A young guard is detailed to find the killer and stumbles on a sinister conspiracy – and the work of a Korean poet who writes clandestine verses of rare beauty.

View full details and book places »
Blackburn,_Juliatrello__c.Fiona_Makkink

Julia Blackburn

Thursday 14th May, 7.30pm

John Craske, a Norfolk fisherman, was born in 1881. In 1917, when he had just turned thirty-six, he fell seriously ill and for the rest of his life moved in and out of what was described as ‘a stuporous state’. In 1923 he started making paintings of the sea and boats and the coastline seen […]

View full details and book places »
James Runcie

James Runcie

Thursday 21st May, 7.30pm

We are delighted to welcome Toppings favourite, James Runcie, back to Ely to celebrate the publication of the latest Granchester novel, Sidney Chambers and the Forgiveness of Sin. The loveable full-time priest and part-time detective continues his sleuthing adventures in 1960’s Cambridge with six new stories involving murder, theft and falling pianos. Entertaining, suspenseful, thoughtful, […]

View full details and book places »
Peter Stanford by_Mykel_Nicolaou

Peter Stanford

Monday 25th May, 7.30pm

After tackling The Devil, Heaven and Pope Joan in previous books, Peter Stanford turns his attention to Judas, who , in the words of in Pope Leo may be “the wickedest and unhappiest man that ever lived“. In this enthralling biography Peter explores two thousand years of cultural and theological history to investigate how the […]

View full details and book places »
Beevor_cr_John_E_Fry

Antony Beevor

Tuesday 9th June, 7.30pm

From the bestselling author of Stalingrad, Berlin and D-Day, Antony Beevor’s Ardennes 1944: Hitler’s Last Gamble tells the story of Germany’s ill-fated final stand. Hitler’s attempt to split the allies by driving all the way to Antwerp through the snow-covered forests and gorges of the Ardennes became the greatest battle of the war in western […]

View full details and book places »
akroydhand

Carry Ackroyd on John Clare

Wednesday 10th June, 7.30pm

Painter and printmaker Carry Akroyd is well-known to book-lovers; her wonderfully evocative images enhance any publication, never more so than in the recent book of the Radio Four series ‘Tweet of the Day’. Carry joins us for an evening  extolling her love of East Anglian poet John Clare, whose work she has illustrated in a  […]

View full details and book places »
Robert Macfarlane

Robert Macfarlane

Wednesday 17th June, 7.30pm

There are very few writers who have garnered as much affection from our audiences as the wonderful Robert Macfarlane: The Old Ways, Holloway, The Wild Places and Mountains of the Mind are all gripping examinations of the world we live in. His latest book, , Landmarks, is a joyous meditation on words, landscape and the […]

View full details and book places »
John Julius Norwich 2

John Julius Norwich

Friday 26th June, 7.30pm

Sicily has been invaded and fought over by Phoenicians and Greeks, Carthaginians and Romans, Goths and Byzantines, Arabs and Normans, Germans, Spaniards and the French, and has belonged to them all. John Julius Norwich has been fascinated by the island for 50 years . His vivid  history covers everything from erupting volcanoes to the assassination […]

View full details and book places »
Bernières,_Louis_de_

Louis De Bernieres

Thursday 23rd July, 7.30pm

Louis De Bernieres captivated readers with his epic tale of love and strife in German-occupied Greece, Captain Corelli’s Mandolin. Now in his magnificent and moving novel The Dust that falls from Dreams, he turns his gaze nearer home, to an idyllic and eccentric household in Kent where childhood innocence is about to be destroyed by […]

View full details and book places »