John Julius Norwich 2

John Julius Norwich

Monday 24th October, 7.30pm

Lord Norwich’s visits are always a highlight in our events calendar. No one brings history to life with the same verve and interest, regardless of the topic at hand. This time he introduces us to four great princes – Henry VIII, Francis I, Charles V, Suleiman the Magnificent – and the way in which their […]

View full details and book places »
Keggie Carew (c) Juliette Foy HR

Keggie Carew

Wednesday 26th October, 7.30pm

As her father begins to forget his life, Keggie is determined to uncover it, and finds that, as a member of the Special Operations Executive, he changed the course of conflicts all over the world. This is both a gripping history of a largely forgotten and fascinating military unit and a moving examination of family […]

View full details and book places »
mike rouse

Mike Rouse

Thursday 27th October, 7.30pm

Standing on what was one of the largest islands in the Cambridgeshire Fens, Ely has a rich and varied history. The Story of Ely takes an engaging look at this cathedral city from the earliest times to the modern day, recalling pivotal events and taking into account its unique architectural development and heritage. Illustrated with […]

View full details and book places »

Catherine Seymour

Saturday 29th October, 2.30pm

For generations of Cambridge families the university’s grand colleges were completely out of bounds, another world on their doorstep they would never experience – apart from the select few who worked cleaning their corridors and tending to fellows. These were the bedders, and Catherine Seymour has uncovered their stories. She takes us into the lives […]

View full details and book places »

Ben Aaronovitch

Tuesday 1st November, 12.30pm

Ben will be signing copies of the sixth of his much acclaimed Rivers of London series, The Hanging Tree in the shop between 12.30 and 1.30pm. The signing is pre-publication, so please let us know in advance if you would like to reserve a copy. Ben is happy to sign his previous books in addition to your copy of the […]

View full details and book places »
Paddy Ashdown

Paddy Ashdown

Tuesday 1st November, 7.30pm

A riveting three-way spy story set in occupied France.  ‘Game of Spies‘ tells the story of a lethal spy triangle in Bordeaux between 1942 and 1944 in Bordeaux – and of France’s greatest betrayal by aristocratic and right-wing Resistance leader Andre Grandclement. The story centres on three men: one British, one French and one German […]

View full details and book places »

Nicholas Crane

Wednesday 2nd November, 7.30pm

 Nicholas Crane is the award winning author, expert cartographer, international explorer and co-presenter of BBC TV’s hugely popular ‘Coast’ series.  The Making of the English Landscape brilliantly  describes the evolution of Britain’s countryside and the development of its cities. Part journey, part history, the book culminates in the 21st century, set to be one of the most extreme centuries, […]

View full details and book places »
Damon Hill 2016 website

Rescheduled: Racing Legend Damon Hill

Monday 7th November, 7.30pm

Please note that Damon Hill has had to reschedule his event with us to Monday 7th November. The new venue is Ely Cathedral. If you have booked places, we are currently getting in touch with you to confirm the change. We are thrilled to announce that Formula One legend Damon Hill will be joining us to […]

View full details and book places »

Supper Club – Simenon’s Maigret

Tuesday 8th November, 7.30pm

Join us for a three course supper inspired by the culinary world of the great Inspector Maigret. To accompany some classic French cuisine we will be joined by Simenon’s son John, who will be talking to us about his father. £10.00 of your ticket price will be redeemable against Maigret-related books to be used at […]

View full details and book places »
ian rankin

Ian Rankin

Wednesday 9th November, 7.30pm

For John Rebus, forty years may have passed, but the death of beautiful, promiscuous Maria Turquand still preys on his mind. Murdered in her hotel room on the night a famous rock star and his entourage were staying there, Maria’s killer has never been found. Meanwhile, the dark heart of Edinburgh remains up for grabs – […]

View full details and book places »

John Lewis-Stempel

Thursday 10th November, 7.30pm

John Lewis-Stempel has two parallel careers, one as a military historian and one as a nature writer. He excels in both, so it is tremendously exciting to discover that his new book will combine the two. Where Poppies Blow is the  story of the British soldiers of World War one and their relationship with the wildlife around them. […]

View full details and book places »

An Evening with John Simpson

Monday 14th November, 7.30pm

If anyone has the right to tell the story of the war correspondent then John Simpson is surely that man. In a distinguished BBC career spanning fifty years, he has reported on all of the major conflicts of our time with an unflinching gaze and a deep understanding of the tensions, human stories and terrible […]

View full details and book places »
Diarmaid MacCulloch

Diarmaid MacCulloch

Thursday 17th November, 7.30pm

The Reformation which engulfed  Europe in the sixteenth century was one of the most highly-charged, bloody and transformative periods in its history. Ever since, it has remained one of the most contested. In All Things Made New, Diarmaid MacCulloch  illuminates the inexhaustible variety of the Reformation: a delightful mix of writings on angels, Protestant opinions about the Virgin Mary and […]

View full details and book places »
Salley Vickers

Salley Vickers

Wednesday 23rd November, 7.30pm

Salley Vickers first novel Miss Garnett’s Angel was an international word of mouth bestseller, and she has since established herself as one of our leading novelists, in the tradition of Penelope Fitzgerald and Marilynne Robinson.  In her latest book, Cousins, brilliant and mercurial Will Tye suffers a life changing accident with consequences  which echo through three generations of the […]

View full details and book places »

Ray Mears

Thursday 24th November, 7.30pm

Ray Mears is recognised throughout the world as a leading authority on  survival skills. For more than twenty years Ray and his collaborator Lars Falt have worked together teaching bushcraft in Arctic Lapland, and Out on the Land is a distillation, not only of the skills they have learned, but of the traditions and cultures that have […]

View full details and book places »

Ruth Padel andRowan Williams

Friday 25th November, 7.30pm

Award-winning poet Ruth Padel has written a  poem in the tradition of Charles Dickens and Dylan Thomas, a poem which takes us on a journey to the heart of Christmas. Ruth will be joined by former Archbishop of Canterbury Rowan Williams, himself a distinguished poet; the two of them will,  in conversation and through readings of their […]

View full details and book places »
Alan Johnson2

Alan Johnson

Saturday 10th December, 7.30pm

The first two volumes of Alan Johnson’s autobiography have been universally acclaimed and justly rewarded with many prizes.  The third volume, The Long and Winding Road  tells of Alan’s early  skirmishes as a trades union leader, where his charismatic style and negotiating skill soon came to the notice of  senior members of the Labour Party. Alan entered Parliament […]

View full details and book places »